Manor Farm History

 

beamshatchery

Manor Farm’s history goes back an impressive 800 years. The Manor House and the Great Barn were both built in 1266 after the older manor house and tithe barn were burnt to the ground during a raid by Simon De Montfort’s men following the battle of Evesham in 1265.

 

 

Throughout the medieval centuries the farm was owned by Barnwell priory and then by Christ College whose tenant farmers worked the land and stored the harvests in the Great Barn, the last harvest was brought into the barn in 1993 when the doors were closed for the last time.

Today, we are very fortunate to be the third generation of our family who have taken care of this beautiful farm and its medieval buildings and though farming has changed a lot over the last eight centuries, the Great Barn still stands as a stunning reminder of much older times.

History 2